Canadian Comedy Awards Nominees Announced

By Sam Mooney
The 12th annual Canadian Comedy Awards 2011 nominees were announced on Wednesday at a press conference at Second City.  There are 25 categories and the public can vote in 5 of them – Best TV Show, Best Film, Best Web Clip, Best Radio Clip and Canadian Comedy Person of the Year. Voting begins on June 15 and public voting ends in September. You do need to register to vote and can do that at the Canadian Comedy Awards website.

The awards will be presented as part of the Canadian Comedy Awards and Festival, October 13th to 17th, 2011. You’ll be able to see performances by many of the nominees at various venues around Toronto.

Here is the list of nominees in each category:

Male Standup
Steve Patterson
Mark Forward
Darrin Rose
Tim Steeves
Jeremy Hotz

Female Standup
Heidi Foss
Laurie Elliott
Nikki Payne
DeAnne Smith
Debra DiGiovanni

Standup Newcomer
Rhiannon Archer
Eric Andrews
Matt Carter
Dylan Gott
D.J. Demers

Comedic Play
Something Wicked Awesome This Way Comes…
Phillips & Crown
My Mother’s Lesbian Jewish Wiccan Wedding
Dr. Whom
Pick of the Fringe!

One Person Show
Cancer Can’t Dance Like This
ONEymoon (A Honeymoon for One)
Beer League
NormVsCancer: A Terminally Funny One Man Show

Sketch Troupe
The Second City
Women Fully Clothed
Falcon Powder
Hot Thespian Action

Improv Troupe
Rapid Fire Theatre
Die-Nasty The Live Improvised Soap Opera
The Sunday Service
The National Theatre of the World’s Impromptu Splendor
Urban Improv

Male Improviser
Mark Meer
Jeff Gladstone
Taz VanRassel
Ron Pederson
Ryan Beil

Female Improviser
Ashley Botting
Inessa Frantowski
Caitlin Howden
Sarah Hillier
Mandy Sellers

TV Show
Living In Your Car
This Movie Sucks!
Call Me Fitz
Less Than Kind

Taped Live Performance
Nikki Payne – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010
Chuck Byrn – Ha!ifax Comedy Fest 2010
Tim Steeves – CCA’s 10 Year Anniversary Special
Nick Beaton – Comedy Now
Ron Josol – Ethnical Difficulties

Direction – TV
Sebastian Cluer – Kenny vs Spenny Christmas Special
Henry Sarwer-Foner – Rick Mercer Report
Adam Brodie & Dave Derewlany – Scare Tactics
Brian K. Roberts – The Debaters
James Dunnison – Less Than Kind

Writing – TV Program or Series
Paul Mather, Mike McPhaden, Renee Percy, James Phillips, Kurt Smeaton, Graham Wagner – Men with Brooms, Wedding Knells
Tim Mcauliffe, Mark Critch, Cathy Jones, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Dean Jenkinson, Mike Allison, David Kerr, Bob Kerr – 22 Minutes, Episode 5
Ken Finkleman – Good Dog
Sheri Elwood – Call Me Fitz – Episode 101
Graham Clark, Gary Jones, Richard Side, John Wing, Nathan Macintosh, Dave Hemstad, Debra DiGiovanni – ‘The Debaters’

Performance by a Male – TV
Howie Miller – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Mark O’Brien – Republic of Doyle
Ennis Esmer – The Listener
Jason Priestley – Call Me Fitz, Episode 106

Performance by a Female – Television
Aimee Beaudoin – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Nancy Robertson – Hiccups
Angela Asher – 18 TO LIFE Season 2, ‘Overcooked’
Sitara Hewitt – Little Mosque on the Prairie
Brooke Palsson – Less Than Kind

Best Performance by an Ensemble – Television
Dana Andersen, Matt Alden, Aimée Beaudoin, Sheldon Elter, Jeff Halaby, James Higuchi, Howie Miller, Mark Meer, Ryan Parker – CAUTION: May Contain Nuts
Brendan Gall, Siobhan Murphy, William C. Vaughan, Anand Rajaram, Joel S. Keller, Aliyah O’Brien, Glenda Braganza, Paul Gross – Men with Brooms
James Hartnett, Hannah Hogan, Alana Johnston, Kayla Lorette, Joey Lucius, Alex Spencer, AJ Vaage – That’s So Weird
Fred Ewanuick, Mary Ashton, Paul Bates, Benjamin Ayres, David Ferry – Dan for Mayor, Episode 110
Stacey Farber, Alain Goulem, Angela Asher, Jesse Rath, Kaniehtiio Horn, Ellen David, Arielle Shiri, Peter Keleghan, Michael Seater, Erin Agostino – 18 TO LIFE Season 2 (Episode 1: ‘Family Portrait’)

Best Film
Good Neighbours
Don’t Walk Out That Door

Performance by a Male – Film
Jay Baruchel – Good Neighbours
Tim Doiron – GravyTrain
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Joe Cobden – Peepers
Craig Brown – Don’t Walk Out That Door

Best Performance by a Female – Film
Sandi Ross – Medium Raw: Night of the Wolf
Angela Asher – A Touch of Grey
Maria Del Mar – A Touch of Grey
Janine Theriault – Peepers
Inessa Frantowski – Don’t Walk Out That Door

Direction – Film
Jacob Tierney – Good Neighbours
Jeremy LaLonde – The Untitled Work of Paul Shepard
Jesse Shamata – Break A Leg
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Seth W. Owen – Peepers

Writing – Film
Jacob Medjuck – Summerhood
Jacob Tierney, Good Neighbours
Seth W. Owen, Mark Slutsky, Daniel Perlmutter – Peepers
Simon Fraser, Brian G. Smith – Improvisaton Nation
Tim Doiron – GravyTrain

Radio Program or Clip
The Debaters – Pete Zedlacher & Kristeen Von Hagen: Zombies vs. Vampires
The Irrelevant Show – Episode 1
Kamikaze Komedy
The Debaters – Sean Cullen & Alonzo Bodden: Summer vs Winter Olympics
This Is That

Web Clip
Fresh Talks I Luv All The Special Girl
I Am The Man
Phone Call to an Ex-girlfriend
That Thing That Happened